Jan 31

Alcatraz Book Series by Brandon Sanderson

Tim: We have now read all four of the Alcatraz Smedry books currently available. We started with Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians, the first book in the series.

These are a series of books about a 13 year old boy who discovers he has magical powers and gets taken away from an uncaring family to join a people like him. While this may sound familiar, Brandon Sanderson’s approach is as much a send-up of the genre as it is an excellent example. These are books the whole family will love.

Daniel: I would recommend this book people who like humour and adventure. The main characters are: Alcatraz, a young boy who has a talent for breaking things. Bastille, a knight who is good at fighting and she likes it too. Leavenworth, Alcatraz’s grandpa who has a talent for being late.

Tim: There are not too many books that I get to read with Daniel that I enjoy (almost) as much as he does. We both laughed out loud when reading the Alcatraz series.

Daniel: this is a very good book but don’t read this before bedtime because (as my dad says it) it whips me into a frenzy.

Tim: It’s true. We can’t read it without lots of bouncing around and yelling.

In summary. Great books good for ages seven and up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.